Coupons · Recipes

Sweet Potato and Pasta Recipe

This meal is one of my go-to meals, it’s fast,filling and delicious. Ok, it’s not all that fast but to make it fast I pre-dice my veggies ahead of time so I just have to toss them in when I’m ready.  I came across this from Pinterest which lead me to a blog called SLP where I got this amazing keeper of a recipe. I hope you enjoy her recipe as much as we did. I tweaked it a bit but you can find her original post here.

You will need:

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup of cooked chickpeas
  • 3 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 large beefsteak tomato,diced
  • 3 cups vegetable stock
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into cubes
  • 1/2 box of pasta (half of a 16oz box that is, so 8oz of pasta)

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in pan, add sweet potatoes and onions and cook until onions are translucent.
  2. Add chickpeas, garlic,ginger, parsley, basil, salt & pepper and tomatoes to the pot and cook for five minutes on medium to medium high heat covered.
  3. Add the stock and pasta and cook until your pasta is done and tender, this took me about 10 min.

Notes:

I used dry chickpeas that I had soaked and cooked myself.

I used homemade vegetable stock. 

In this picture I used a white sweet potato because I accidentally bought the wrong ones at the grocery store.

I used two different types of pasta because I had half of each box left and I needed to use them up.

 

 

Leave a Reply

