Recipes

Juice Pulp Dog Treats Recipe

 

DSC_0217

After a recent visit to our local vet for our furbaby we were told he had arthritis, it was then that I decided I would make him some treats with turmeric to help ease the inflammation. The problem was where do I begin? How to make them without flour?  For about a week I forgot about it and as I was making myself a beet juice it hit me…juice pulp. I will make juice pulp dog treats.

You will need:

  • 4 cups of ABC juice pulp (recipe for pulp below)
  • 1 cup of powered peanut butter (the powdered pb soaks up the excess liquid in the pulp)
  • 1 tablespoon of turmeric
  • 1/2 cup of ground flax meal

wp-1458316616820.jpg

Mix to combine, it should stick together without falling apart.

wp-1458316623787.jpg

Spread even on non-stick sheets.Score the mixture into 1 inch squares.

Place sheets in the dehydrator or oven on 145 degrees for 1 hour, reduce to 115 and continue to dry for 10-12 hours.Flip once during the drying process.

Since you have scored the treats before drying they should break apart easily. Store in an air tight container.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 ABC Juice Recipe for 2 (Apples, Beet, Carrots)

wp-1458317472275.jpg

  • 1 Large Beet with greens
  • 6 large carrots *or 3 cups of baby carrots as that’s what I had on hand
  • 5 apples

This recipe makes 2 large glasses of juice and yields 4 cups of pulp.

wp-1458317493692.jpg

Notes:

Before drying the treats I let my dogs sample the unfinished product to see how they would take to it. All 3 of our dogs ate it, once dried only 2 of the 3 ate the treats. It may have been too hard for my older dog.

My initial photo does not show the flax meal or pb2 because I forgot to add them to picture. It happens, I’m no pro.

My pictures are awful because I didn’t find my camera until this morning so I was using my phone camera.

I add a lot of apples to my juice because I don’t like the taste of beets but the apples help to mask that taste. I normally add 1 inch. piece of ginger to this but since I was giving the pulp to my dogs I decided not to.

One thought on “Juice Pulp Dog Treats Recipe

Leave a Reply

