Recipes

Vegan Chili Mac Recipe

DSC_0332

The “I didn’t make it to the grocery store meal”. :p This meal cost about $7, give or take a bit.

It gives about 6 large servings which for us means all the kids get a bowl and we each get a heaping dinner plate and a lunch for the next day.

This recipe has been adapted from Breaking the Food Seduction by Neal Bernard 

Chili Mac

You will need:

1/2 pound dry elbow macaroni ($0.50)
1 large yellow onion, diced ($0.30)
1 medium green bell pepper, diced ($0.50)
2 celery stalks, diced ($0.10)
3 teaspoons chili powder ($0.05)
2 teaspoon ground cumin ($0.05)
1 teaspoon dried cilantro leaves ($0.05)
3 tablespoons soy sauce (you can sub with Tamari) ($0.25)
2 teaspoons liquid smoke ($0.25)
2 (15 oz) cans diced tomatoes ($0.69 each can)
2 (15 oz) cans black beans, drained and rinsed ($0.99 each can)
1 cup frozen yellow corn ($0.99)

Optional toppings: Avocado($0.39), tofutti (I had a free coupon), daiya (again, free coupon).

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package instructions.

DSC_0325

While the pasta is cooking saute the onion, bell pepper and celery in a large stock pot using the juice from the canned tomatoes. Cook until soft and translucent, you can add the lid to the pot to help soften.

DSC_0327

Once soft and translucent add your spices, cook for 1 min.

*I forgot to take a picture of this step, oops.

DSC_0329

Add soy cause,liquid smoke, tomatoes, beans, and and corn and heat thoroughly.

Taste, if you need to add more spices now is the time.

DSC_0330

Once pasta is done, drain the water and add the pasta to the pot. Enjoy.

DSC_0332

I like to top mine with Daiya shreds, tofutii sour cream and avocado. I ran out of sriracha sauce but I like a little on there as well.

This recipe is not my own but I did change it from the original to suit my families needs, we have 4 young children who cannot tolerate much spice. If you feel you need more spice please do so.

For a video recipe I found Jill’s Instant Pot version, I have made this in my Instant Pot but I prefer to use the stove for this.

One thought on “Vegan Chili Mac Recipe

Leave a Reply

